h1

The Deposit Slip by Todd M. Johnson

September 10, 2012

Of the (free) books that Bethany House publishing has sent my way, this is my favorite so far. It arrived in the mail the same week our little girl was born. Great timing, right? I remember seeing the package and thinking I wouldn’t have time or energy to read anything at all let alone read and review a novel. Thankfully, I’ve somehow managed to do both. Well..kind of. Instead of reading this all by myself, I invited Nate (my husband) to read it with me. We took turns reading aloud and made it through in about three weeks.

A few thoughts:

I’m a visual learner, and this book has lots of characters. It took me until almost the end of the book to sort through and remember some of the names I had heard read to me.

I was pleasantly surprised that my early predictions of a love interest for the protagonist were completely incorrect.

The ending felt rushed. And, honestly, I was disappointed. I won’t spoil it for you, but the last line implied that the protagonist was about to head back to where he started. I want characters to change and really grow.

Although it comes from a Christian publisher, this book wasn’t overtly religious. It did explore ethical issues like integrity and forgiveness, but the focus was on the characters. This book didn’t preach or scold.

The main reason why I could stick with this book in spite of the fog of newborn sleep deprivation and busyness was because this book was interesting. I love a good mystery. This book had a good mystery.  Therefore, I think I’ll pass this along to other friends and family in need of an interesting new book!

Leave a Reply

