h1

Easy No-Sew Felt Mail and Mailbox (with help from Elmer’s Craft it!)

December 14, 2012

Want to win the crafting kit I used to make this little no-sew gift? Check out yesterday’s post! Giveaway ends December 19, 2012.

Around here, we’re pretty obsessed with snail mail. In fact, my two-year-old and I practically fight over who gets to get it out and bring it inside. (She can be so childish sometimes.) So when I needed to come up with a project to make from my Craft it! kit, I decided it was time for my little one to have her own mailbox and letters.

One tiny problem: I can’t make a mailbox. My brain just doesn’t work that way. I just don’t see how pieces and parts fit together. Thankfully, Nate’s handy, and his brain does work that way. So I turned over to him the cardboard and duct tape. A few minutes later, he came back with this:

IMG_76672

Awesome! It has a working “door” and a slot in back to slip in mail. Nate assures me it was “easy,” and it didn’t cost us a single penny!

I painted it green (Why green? Because we had green spray paint!) and then wrote “MAIL” in pencil on one side and our address on the other. Then I colored in the words with the awesome paint pens from the crafting kit. (The Painters are my absolute favorite part of the kit.) The finished mailbox is fun, right?

IMG_76842

On to the mail!

This part may have been easier with a sewing machine, but I try to avoid sewing. My project was completely no-sew.

For the envelopes, I used the basic pattern provided in this tutorial: No-Sew “Buttoned” felt envelope. But I left off the button–too much work.

IMG_76702

For the postcards, I was inspired by this post.

I cut out postcard-size rectangles using my X-ACTO knife and Self-Healing Mat (fun toys!).

IMG_765012

I then used my new scissors to cut out pieces of felt that were slightly larger than my cardboard pieces. Then I glued the felt on the cardboard and trimmed the excess. Easy.

IMG_76732

On the front of both envelopes and the postcards, I added pieces of velcro to where the stamps and addresses/names would go. (That way she can vary which names and stamps she uses.)

The next step was to make the actual stamps and address labels. I used the tracers provided in the crafting kit to make sweet little designs on the stamps. My little helper freehanded a few designs as well. I then added velcro.

IMG_77032

Stamp Designs1

For the names, I put some of the pretty tape from the crafting kit on small rectangles of felt. I then used the paint markers to write names on the tape/felt combination–Mommy, Daddy, Mamaw, Papaw, G-Ma, G-Pa, Sofi the Dog (What? Your dog doesn’t get snail mail?). To make these more durable, I laminated them. Clear packaging tape would also work. I then added velcro to the backs of these.

Velcro

Finally, I added a few pieces of heavy card stock to the envelopes. A few had notes from Mommy (“Hi, Baby! How are you? Have you been playing well with your sister today? I love you!”) and a few are blank because my little one LOVES to “write” (scribble) words/letters/notes/lists.

Was this project easy? Could I do it while nursing a baby, wrangling a toddler, or watching TV in the evening?  For the most part, yes. Although there were definitely a few things (hot glue! the X-Acto knife!) that required two hands and my full attention. All in all, I think it will make a great cheap and fun present for my little girl!

IMG_77063

IMG_77132

Materials

From Elmer’s Craft it!

X-Acto knife

Decorative shape templates (Tracers)

Scissors

Ruler

Paint markers (Painters)

Designer tape

Other

Felt

Velcro

Hot glue

Spray paint

Cardboard

Duct tape

Leave a Reply

